Teams ready to rumble

Captains of the men’s teams that will compete in the 2018 Oceania 7s to be held in Suva this weekend at the tournament launch last night. Picture: ATU RASEA

THE 2018 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship was officially launched last night at the Grand Pacific Hotel in Suva by the Minister for Youth and Sports Laisenia Tuitubou.

Rugby fever has swept the Capital City with 21 teams to battle for the chance of being crowned winners of the 2018 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship.

“This tournament has nonetheless brought to light the immense pool of talent which is readily available in the Oceania region,” Minister for Youth and Sports Laisenia Tuitubou said during the launch.

The 2018 Oceania 7s Championship sees 13 men’s and eight women’s teams come with the their best squads to compete over the two-day tournament.
“I show my appreciation to the talented young men and women who will be participating in the tournament.”

The championship will kick off tomorrow with the Fiji men’s team to take on Cook Islands at 11am at the ANZ  Stadium.

More Stories