Solomon Islands team flies to Netherlands

HONIARA, 15 MAY 2019 (ISLAND SUN) – The Solomon Islands men’s national football team left the country for the Netherlands for their three weeks training camp.

Head Coach, Wim Rijsbergen and the Solomon Islands Football Federation (SIFF) had released a 23 man squad on Friday for the Netherlands.

SIFF said this is part of the national team’s preparation for July’s Pacific Games in Samoa where they are hoping to win gold at the games.

SIFF also announced that the national team will also play an international friendly match with Singapore at the National Stadium in Singapore during the next international window in June.

SIFF said Coach Rijsbergen is happy and will use the Singapore friendly to further asses the players after their three-week training camp.

“Solomon Islands will play Singapore??away in an international friendly during the next FIFA international window on 8 June,” the SIFF statement said.

“The Solomon Islands have beaten Southeast Asia in recent international friendlies against Macau and Chinese Taipei.

“However, Singapore would present a tough challenge for the national side as they have played international friendlies in the past with South American giants Brazil and Argentina.

“Wim Rijsbergen said he is happy to use the friendly to assess his players after the Netherland’s camp this month,” the statement adds.

“I believe we will be having a good time together in the Netherlands during the training camp and then it’s good that we are going to play against Singapore on the way back to see how the players’ react to how we want to play,” the Dutchman said.

Meanwhile, the selected 23-man squad who will leave the country today are as follows:


  1. Philip MANGO (Solomon Warriors), 2. Desmond TUTU (Henderson Eels), 3. Timothy MAEARASIA (Solomon Warriors)


  1. Haddis AENGARI (Solomon Warriors),
  2. Allen PETER (Solomon Warriors), 6. Emmanuel POILA (Solomon Warriors),
  3. Andrew RARANGIA (Henderson Eels),
  4. Richard IROMANA (KOSSA FC),
  5. Boni PRIDE (Henderson Eels),
  6. John AETA (Marist FC),


  1. Atkin KAUA (Solomon Warriors), 12. Jerry DONGA (Solomon Warriors),
  2. Patrick TAROGA

(Marist FC),

  1. Alwin HOU (Solomon Warriors), 15. Feni GAGAME (Suva FC),
  2. Michael BOSO (Suva FC),
  1. Dennis IFUNAOA (Labasa FC), 18. Micah LEA’ALAFA (Auckland City),
  2. Tutizama TANITO (Hekari United)


  1. Joses NAWO (Henderson Eels), 21. Raynick LAETA (Henderson Eels), 22. Benjamin TOTORI (Lautoka FC), 23. Andrew ABBA (Waitakere United)

More Stories