Rabbitohs to play six

Ravoravo Rabbitohs captain Josateki Savou, second from left, offl oads to Semi Wainiqolo against Army Bears during Vodafone Cup 2019 semi-final at Lawaqa Park in Sigatoka. Picture: REINAL CHAND/FILE

THE Ravoravo Rabbitohs plan to play a structured game by completing each set of their six tackles in order to counter the fast paced Lae Snak Tigers to win the Pherrus Melanesian Cup 2020 at Churchill Park in Lautoka this afternoon.

The Rabbitohs will be venturing into new ground participating in the Melanesia Club Challenge for the first time competing against the Tigers from Papua New Guinea who have won the past two editions and are on a hat-trick.

Lock Savenaca Saukuru has been handed the captain’s armband and the Rabbitohs will also have the services of Tikiko Noke, Ilami Susu, Waisea Nasekai, Timoci Namotokula, Maika Serulevu and Simon Wise who are part of the Kaiviti Silktails team preparing for the upcoming Ron Messay Cup competition.

Rabbitohs coach Sivaniolo Varo said they have selected the best available players in their bid to create history by becoming the Fijian club to win the title.

Varo said they have a lot of respect for the Tigers since rugby league was the number one sport in PNG. He said they would be banking on their fitness to get them on top at the end.

“This is the first time for us to play in this challenge match,” he said.

“The Tigers will hit us hard and fast so we will be banking on our fitness and will use our forwards to muscle their way up the field.

“Our game plan will be to complete our set of six and gain vital possession.

“I urge all the rugby league fans in Fiji to turn up in numbers at Churchill Park in Lautoka to support our boys.

“We are not only representing the Rabbitohs club and the vanua of Sabeto but also the whole nation as well.”

The match will kick off at 4pm.

In the curtain raiser, the Silktails will face PNG club Hela Wigmen at 2pm.

Ravoravo Rabbitohs: Ulaiasi Radrovi, Simon Wise, Ilami Susu, Jone Levi, Josevata Lalawa, Sevanaia Galala, Ratu Timoci Namotukula, Tikiko Noke, Apimeleki Lutunamawi, Savenaca Saukuru, Maika Serulevu, Etonia Moitoga, Waisea Nasekai, Timoci Saukuru, Peniasi Senikarawa, Iliesa Salauca, Kolinio Radrovi. Lae Snax Tigers: Sonny Wabo, Enoch Sine, Jokedi Bire, Rodrick Tai, Anderson Benford, Mark Rony, Nathan Milli, Roy Kela, Sylvester Namo, Butler Morris, Tiger Emeri, Ishmael Balkawa, Weser Tenza, Joejoe Wallamas, John Andy, Cedric Maima, Joshua Lau, Nicky Aure.

More Stories