Best team picked for Swire Shipping Fijian Latui

Some of the Swire Shipping Fijian Latui team members. Mosese Voka (2nd from left) will led the team. Picture: BALJEET SINGH

SWIRE Shipping Fijian Latui coach Senirusi Seruvakula has named a powerful 23-member squad for the opening encounter in Global Rapid Rugby against Kagifa Samoa at Churchill Park in Lautoka this afternoon.

Seruvakula has opted for an experienced squad with the Fiji Airways Flying Fijians players Eroni Mawi and Mesulame Dolokoto leading the front row.

Veteran forward and Fiji Drua captain Mosese Voka has been given the nod to lead the side in the competition which has a new rule concept.

The competition includes a 9 point power try for the team making a break from within their 22-metre territory with rolling changes.

Seruvakula said all the players were healthy and had been responding well at training, especially after three rounds of the Skipper Cup.

He said it would be a big moment for number eight Timoci Davu of Nadroga and Namosi’s Netava Koroisau who would be making their international debut for a national team.

“These two players have been playing some good rugby this season and have been working hard in training hence they have booked a spot in the final team” Seruvakula said.

Star halfback Frank Lomani from the Naitasiri club will miss the match because he is nursing a minor injury sustained during the Skipper Cup match against Nadi last weekend.

The back line is packed with experienced players such as Apisalome Waqatabu, Apete Daveta, John Stewart and Lepani Raiyala.

The Swire Shipping Fijian Latui faces Kagifa Samoa at 3.10pm.

Ticket prices are $10 for pavilions and $5 for the embankment.

Children under the age of 12 years will be allowed free entry.

Swire Shipping Fijian Latui: Eroni Mawi, Mesulame Dolokoto, Luke Tagi, Peni Naulago, Necani Nawaqadau, Mosese Voka, Vasikali Mudu, Timoci Davu, Jone Manu, Tuidraki Samusamuvodre, Lepani Raiyala, Avete Daveta, John Stewart, Tria Wilagi, Apisalome Waqatabu.

Reserves: Tuvere Vugakoto, Joeli Veitayaki, Apisai Vatubuli, Filimoni Seru, Johnny Dyer, Netava Koroisau, Enele Tikotani, Ifereimi Tovilevu.

More Stories